At The Copa Vinyl


Ships on: July 24, 2024

The restored Sam Cooke At The Copa reveals Cooke's Copacabana performance, with all of the nuance and passion that his adoring audience experienced years ago.

Broadway, blues, folk, jazz, gospel and even country, and, of course, soul are represented on such tracks as “Nobody Knows You When You’re Down and Out,” “Frankie and Johnny,” “Try A Little Tenderness,” and the hits “Twistin’ The Night Away,” “You Send Me” and “(I Love You) For Sentimental Reasons.” Included on this album is Cooke’s version of Bob Dylan’s “Blowin’ In The Wind,” which reflected the struggle for civil rights that rings true to this day, and inspired Cooke to write his own civil rights anthem, “A Change Is Gonna Come."

  • 180 gram Classic Black Vinyl
  • Remastered and restored with original album artwork
  • First released in October of 1964


Side One

  1. Opening Introduction
  2. The Best Things In Life Are Free
  3. Bill Bailey
  4. Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out
  5. Frankie And Johnny
  6. Try A Little Tenderness / (I Love You) For Sentimental Reasons / You Send Me
  7. If I Had A Hammer (The Hammer Song)

Side Two

  1. When I Fall In Love
  2. Twistin’ The Night Away
  3. Band Introductions
  4. This Little Light Of Mine
  5. Blowin’ In The Wind
  6. Tennessee Waltz