Portrait of A Legend 1951-1964 Vinyl


Ships on: July 24, 2024

Portrait of a Legend 1951-1964 is a career-spanning, 31-track collection of music pioneer Sam Cooke’s greatest works. This collection presents tracks from Cooke’s gospel and early R&B career, as well as his pop/soul hits from the Specialty and RCA labels, and has combined them with the cream of the masters that are part of his own company, Tracey Records.

  • 2 180 Gram Classic Black Vinyl
  • Remastered and restored with original album artwork
  • Comprehensive liner notes by Cooke biographer Peter Guralnick


LP 1

Side One

  1. Touch The Hem Of His Garment
  2. Lovable
  3. You Send Me
  4. Only Sixteen
  5. (I Love You) For Sentimental Reasons
  6. Just For You
  7. Win Your Love For Me
  8. Everybody Loves To Cha Cha Cha

Side Two

  1. I’ll Come Running Back To You
  2. You Were Made For Me
  3. Sad Mood
  4. Cupid
  5. (What A) Wonderful World
  6. Chain Gang
  7. Summertime
  8. Little Red Rooster

LP 2

Side One

  1. Bring It On Home To Me
  2. Nothing Can Change This Love
  3. Sugar Dumpling
  4. (Ain’t That) Good News
  5. Meet Me At Mary’s Place
  6. Twistin’ The Night Away
  7. Shake
  8. Tennessee Waltz

Side Two

  1. Another Saturday Night
  2. Good Times
  3. Having A Party
  4. That’s Where It’s At
  5. A Change Is Gonna Come
  6. Jesus Gave Me Water
  7. Soul (Hidden Track)